Month: November 2012

  • Bucket List
    ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

    Convince someone that the film, Children of the Corn, is a documentary about children from the Midwest.

  • Sister's Friend 1: What type of music do you like?
    Sister: Oh, well I listen to people like Bob Dylan, Bil-
    Sister's Friend 1: Who's Bob Dylan?
    Sister's Friend 2: Oh, he's that Jamaican guy.
    Sister:

  • Don't…you call…anybody else…baby
    'Cause I'm your baby still…
    It took a long time…to make it
    But I never changed my mind…
    I never tried to fake it…
    Never…drew…a line

    You…
        speak…
            your…
                fears
    Thinking in circles and checking what mirrors don't see
    You live your life like a page from the book of my fantasy

    Don't…you call…anybody else…baby
    Don't…you call…anybody else…baby
    Don't…you call…anybody else…baby

  • I happened across this image on imgur. Some might remember that I posted an image from the same event a long while ago in another post on here (http://thirst2.xanga.com/716273608/race-sex-sexual-orientation---an-intelligent-assessment-of-controversy/).

    Longstanding tensions between disgruntled African American sanitation workers and Memphis city officials erupted on February 12, 1968 when nearly one thousand workers refused to report to work demanding higher wages, safer working conditions, and recognition of their union, local 1733 of the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees. Despite organizing city-wide boycotts, sit-ins, and daily marches, the city's sanitation workers were initially unable to secure concessions from municipal officials. At the urging of Reverend James T. Lawson, Martin Luther King, Jr. agreed to come to Memphis and lead a nonviolent demonstration in support of the sanitation workers. On March 29 over five thousand demonstrators, carrying signs which read "I Am A Man," participated in King's march. However, the peaceful demonstration took a turn for the worse when an estimated two hundred participants began breaking storefront windows and looting. The ensuing violence resulted in the death of Larry Payne, a sixteen year old African American who was killed by Memphis police officers, the imposition of a city-wide curfew, and the mobilization of nearly four thousand National Guard troops. Deeply troubled by the violent outbreak, King vowed to return to Memphis to lead a peaceful demonstration. On April 3, 1968, nearly two months after the initial start of the strike, King returned to Memphis and delivered what would be his last public speech. The following evening King was assassinated on the second-floor balcony of the Lorraine Motel. In the wake of King's death, President Lyndon B. Johnson sent James Reynolds, undersecretary of labor, to Memphis to help resolve the strike. Nearly two weeks later on April 16, the Memphis sanitation workers' strike ended when the city agreed to issue raises to African American employees and recognize the workers' union.

    There are those who would call the image (or at least the sign) iconic. Reading the comments of imgur, it would seem otherwise.

    They see his beard and know he is a man.

    Who let beardy in line without a sign?

    Epic Beard.

    You say you a man? You a funky man...

    so racist... white people can be men too

    Who brings a sign to a gun fight?

    Talk about irony. The beardy is not a man.

    I think anyone who reads this xanga readily understands that I'm not very fond on the concept of gender-roles; that being said, they existed (stiflingly) in the 50s and the notion of being a man held importance. The phrase "I AM A MAN" here refered not only to the fact that African Americans were human but that they ought to have the same rights that white men had: the ability to work, the right to respect, etc. Literally that White America consistently and systematically emasculated black men.

    The reason the white person does not have a sign, imgur, is because he has all those things already. He is there as an ally and to support.

    While three or so comments seem to understand that this is related to civil rights (not entirely difficult to figure out), none seem to be aware of what this picture is of, specifically. Iconic indeed.

    And, don't get me wrong. I'm generally of the opinion you can make a joke out of almost anything. Some of those comments would be funny with the understanding that everyone knew what the picture was of and respected what it represented. See, this is imgur; this is the photo upload site where, if you upload a picture of the military or something related to Queer rights, everyone goes somber, talking about the need to respect these sacred things.

    Apparently not for race.

    But we know that's not actually it; they're just woefully ignorant of black history – which really isn't their fault. As I was talking about jazz music with my dad, I off-handedly mentioned the Harlem Renaissance – at which point he asked me to explain what that was.

    He had never been taught about it; he had never even heard of it.

  • Got a thing of cashews and suspenders for my birthday; I am happy.

  • Birthdays seem to be becoming an exercise in wonderment that so many found me relevant enough to wish me that it be happy.

  • Excerpt from an old post. At the time, I wasn't certain I articulated what I wanted to well but the last five paragraphs drive home the point perfectly.

     

     

    My point is - pain, suffering, disillusionment, fear, even anger, are all very human. And while I don't want to be yelled at, I do want to see all of those things. You cannot possibly be completely un-traumatized by some point in your life or even your present. Share that. It's a part of you. Plus to be devoid of such things is boring.

    People are messy. People are not perfect and they're incapable of being packaged in these nice little boxes.

    Do not try to shove yourself into one of them. Frustration can be endearing and it's not something I don't want to deal with.

    While, yes, being happy and getting along and being enjoyable is nice, that's not all of who we are. And, I guess, what I'm trying to say...you're more interesting that way so why hide it? Why deal with it in private.

    I want someone who's able to control themselves and yet can be a mess. I want fucking complexity. Be varied, be vast, be radiant.