November 29, 2010

  • I think my biggest problem is that I quit quickly if no one is watching.

    I start thinking about how I freeze up or need more prodding to open up (or really do just about anything) in the beginning, and I tell myself to forget it. Why get to that point anyway just for it to tank?

    It's easier said than done, you know. There's a video out there, which I can't find now, that shows two IM conversations between this boy and this girl. Everytime they're about to send something, they revise it a million times until it's a nice, emotionally neutral response. The end of the video states that emotions are natural and you should express yourself. Or, take this:
    Creepy

    The problem with these? They assume that things work out in the end. Yes, of course, the whole risk thing, "You'll never know if you don't try", and how you may lose them sometimes.

    But maybe that's enough to make you hesitate.

    You get tired, after a while, you know.

Comments (2)

  • The last panel of the strip is cut off. But I think I get the drift.

    I figured when I met my wife-to-be, I had scored for life. Which I didn’t. And I bear at least half the blame. WTF. Most of the blame. Have I found contentment as I approach 60? More or less. Complete fulfillment? No. Not the all consuming love for either her or me. I thought it was ok, but she…

    Not the rewarding career either. But rewarding times in my occupation. Some would say ultimate happiness is not to be found in this life. So, I spend lots of time licking my wounds and sulking.

    But every so often, the urge flares to life. I refer to the need for a face and voice other than my own. It’s not necessarily romance. Camaraderie will do. Am I glutton for punishment. Probably. But I can’t find it in me to quit the game entirely. I run into too many excellent folk; like yourself.

    I don’t know if this is a direct response to the topic of your post per se. But it’s what came out of the frothing concoction of my heart and soul. May we all find at least a measure of uplifting solace.

  • @wrybreadspread - "But every so often, the urge flares to life. I refer to the need for a face and voice other than my own. It’s not necessarily romance. Camaraderie will do."

    Exactly.

    I find those that find life difficult and continue anyway to be the interesting ones. They fall outside the usual reasons and life-affirming arguments, yet stick at it anyway.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment