October 28, 2010

  • Alright, the trouble time I had mentioned is coming up. In order to have a nap at 12 (since I have class from 1:10 to 3:50 and would prefer not needing to have a nap anytime within that time slot), I've shifted the 6 A. M. nap to 5:30.

    The naps have been interesting since, on average, this is less tiring than, again, just getting 2-3 hours in one block. I keep expecting the haziness and exhaustion I usually get from going to bed late and, outside of once or twice before certain naps, I just haven't reached it.

    I definitely feel more exhausted now, though. Nothing too bad, but definite definable exhaustion so that I'd do things a little more slowly or with less precision. If I over sleep again...I will not be pleased.

    My naps, back until the one I overslept on, have been dreamless. On the otherhand, I've had no problem falling asleep for them. I feel like this is some sort of progress. Maybe an indication that the lack of sleep is kicking in, causing me to go to sleep quicker (part of the reason I always prefered falling asleep after a long lack of sleep, admittedly).

    In theory, jumping straight to REM sleep should happen soon enough. As to whether that will stick and my body will start doing this naturally after a long enough habit...well, that's what I'm testing I guess, now isn't it?

    I've read several articles that, in defying polyphasic sleeping, have said that the natural cycle of sleep for humans is biphasic (~6-7 block of sleep with an afternoon nap) and that the idea of causing the body to adapt by instantly going to REM whenever the body goes to sleep is rediculous.

    Yet I can't help but hold some hesitance. I mean, think of the many upon many ways our bodies adapt? While that doesn't necesarily make me think the body will adapt to instant REM, I can't rule out it might. I suppose I'll find out firsthand.

    Anyway, I better go. I'll let you know if I manage to not oversleep this one.